Monday, August 6, 2018

Luther Ingram - I Don't Want To Be Right ~ The Ko Ko Singles Vol. 2 (2008)

Soul | FLAC | 479 Mb

The A-sides and B-sides of all the singles Luther Ingram released on the Ko Ko label between 1972 and 1978 are included on this 19-track CD, forming a neat complement to Vol. 1 of this series. If you have to pick between the two volumes, many would opt for this for the simple reason that it has his one big pop hit, "(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want to Be Right." If you had to pick just one Ingram anthology, many would opt for the Greatest Hits collection on The Right Stuff, as it spans both eras covered by these two import volumes, though the 1996 Right Stuff comp isn't as easy to find as it once was. If you care much about Ingram at all, of course, it's best just to spring for both of these volumes of his Ko Ko 45s, as they neatly cover his most essential material. If you're looking for lost gems that might be comparable to "(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want to Be Right," however, they're not here; Ingram never did manage to come up with another song as strong. Instead, you have an assortment of competent, largely slightly above average '70s soul, some of it somewhat recalling greater singers like Al Green, Stevie Wonder, and Marvin Gaye, though without as distinctive material or vocal chops. The odd absence of any Ingram singles in 1974 and 1975 also meant that he wasn't as heavily represented on discs during this era as he should have been, sounding a bit (though not terribly) retro when he did resume releasing 45s in 1976. The joyous, bluesy ballad "Always" (which is indebted lyrically to the Irving Berlin standard of the same name) is the only song that seems like it should have been a bigger hit than it was, though actually it didn't do too badly, peaking just outside of the R&B Top Ten. Overall, this CD is recommended more for the specific '70s soul specialist than the average '70s soul fan, but those who enjoy late-era Stax-type sounds of all kinds should be reasonably satisfied with it.

1. Missing You (Version 2) (3:25)
2. You Were Made For Me (3:54)
3. (If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want To Be Right (3:35)
4. Puttin' Game Down (Remix) (2:46)
5. I'll Be Your Shelter (In The Time Of Storm) (3:19)
6. I Can't Stop (Version 3) (3:11)
7. Always (4:26)
8. Help Me Love (3:44)
9. Love Ain't Gonna Run Me Away (4:46)
10. Ain't Good For Nothing (3:37)
11. These Are The Things (3:31)
12. Let's Steal Away To Hideaway (4:20)
13. I've Got Your Love In My Life (2:29)
14. I Like The Feeling (2:56)
15. I'm Gonna Be The Best Thing (3:16)
16. Do You Love Somebody (3:21)
17. How I Miss My Baby (4:18)
18. Trying To Find My Love (3:31)
19. Get To Me (4:21)

pass: polarbear

No comments :

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...